Living Life Loved

Just another WordPress.com site

Early Saturday Mornings June 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — spetzy @ 1:41 pm

Early Saturday mornings are my favorite time of the week.  Dave sleeps in until 10 or 11 am and the house is quiet.  It is just me and the Lord and it is oh so sweet.  I usually enjoy a few nice cups of coffee, listen to worship music, journal, exercise and then….plan for Saturday morning breakfast.

Dave really loves waffles.  For his birthday his mom sent us our first waffle iron and since then I have been trying to perfect a waffle recipe.  As I tried and failed many times we invested in Belgian Waffle mix from Fresh Market and Dave loves it.  I think it has a weird after taste and am now determined to find a homemade recipe he loves.  This morning I am attempting Simple Yogurt Waffles (we have some extra yogurt to use up so why not).

1 c. water
1 c. yogurt
2 eggs
2 c. flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

In a medium/large bowl, combine the water, yogurt, and eggs. In a smaller bowl, mix together the remaining (dry) ingredients. Add dry ingredients to wet, and stir to combine. Bake in a waffle iron (according to the directions that came with the appliance).

Off to the kitchen I go!!!

 

2 Responses to “Early Saturday Mornings”

  1. Jill Friesen Says:

    We use the Krustee’s pancake mix with ours… tastes great. We use the waffle recipe on the back, and you need 1 cup mix to make 2 belgian waffles. The regular recipe would make four belgian waffles. Very simple!

  2. spetzy Says:

    So I ended up adding a tbsp of melted butter, 2 tbsp ground flax seed and I separated the egg yolk and egg whites and whipped the egg whites before I put them in to make them fluffier. They were delicious and went really well with the sweet potato butter we got from the farmers market. Would definitely make again and do recommend them!


Leave a comment